HOW IT ALL STARTED (MY TECH JOURNEY)

HOW IT ALL STARTED (MY TECH JOURNEY)

ยท

4 min read

Unlike most people I know that picked interest in tech since their childhood or while in school, I developed interest after my NYSC year(2018). Not that I was oblivious about programming before then,It just never occurred to me that it was something I could do.

I tried learning to code but got distracted, was depressed, coming out of depression,I got admitted for masters program, term papers, class presentations and the likes distracted me from learning how to code.

However, what rekindled my interest was Devfest 2019,I met various people that day and assured myself it is something I really want to do. That day,I made up my mind I will start the learning process in 2020. 2020 came,I got busy with research work, then came the lockdown and that was my saving grace.

Start NG

Some weeks before lockdown, I came across Start NG program for beginners. I applied with the hope that it will enable me start learning how to code. I didn't know there was anything like web development, frontend, backend, mobile development I just knew I will start something that has to do with programming. I wrote my first HTML line during the start NG program (I felt like a world class programmer ๐Ÿ˜„ ),learnt CSS also and a little JavaScript.

Self Learning

Start NG lasted for a month or two, so I had to continue learning on my own after the program. Watched different video tutorials on YouTube, studied using FreeCodeCamp and Progate. I got frustrated countless time, had to assure myself I can do it, get over the frustration and continue learning.

She Code Africa

I applied for SCA mentorship program while self learning and got a mail that I got in few weeks later. The program changed everything for me,I met beginners like myself, got an awesome that was always there, also joined the slack community and all these and more made learning fun.

I have come to realise that when it comes to programming, you don't stop learning, patience and practice will really help you. I still see myself as a beginner, there are times I feel like I should not be doing this probably because I think I am not intelligent enough for the career path. But with everything,I have good days that give me that strength to continue.

You might just be starting out and you already feel like giving up. Keep going. Yes, you will get frustrated multiple times, imposter syndrome will come up sometimes. Brace yourself, YOU CAN DO IT and remember you are not alone ๐Ÿ˜.